aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/asia
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to 'asia')
-rw-r--r--asia25
1 files changed, 19 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/asia b/asia
index 756e3d0e5f46..4f8756b87ea0 100644
--- a/asia
+++ b/asia
@@ -6,7 +6,7 @@
# tz@iana.org for general use in the future). For more, please see
# the file CONTRIBUTING in the tz distribution.
-# From Paul Eggert (2014-10-31):
+# From Paul Eggert (2015-08-08):
#
# Unless otherwise specified, the source for data through 1990 is:
# Thomas G. Shanks and Rique Pottenger, The International Atlas (6th edition),
@@ -43,7 +43,7 @@
# 2:00 EET EEST Eastern European Time
# 2:00 IST IDT Israel
# 3:00 AST ADT Arabia*
-# 3:30 IRST IRDT Iran
+# 3:30 IRST IRDT Iran*
# 4:00 GST Gulf*
# 5:30 IST India
# 7:00 ICT Indochina, most times and locations*
@@ -52,10 +52,11 @@
# 8:00 CST China
# 8:00 IDT Indochina, 1943-45, 1947-55, 1960-75 (some locations)*
# 8:00 JWST Western Standard Time (Japan, 1896/1937)*
+# 8:30 KST KDT Korea when at +0830*
# 9:00 JCST Central Standard Time (Japan, 1896/1937)
# 9:00 WIT east Indonesia (Waktu Indonesia Timur)
# 9:00 JST JDT Japan
-# 9:00 KST KDT Korea
+# 9:00 KST KDT Korea when at +09
# 9:30 ACST Australian Central Standard Time
#
# See the 'europe' file for Russia and Turkey in Asia.
@@ -1027,7 +1028,7 @@ Zone Asia/Jayapura 9:22:48 - LMT 1932 Nov
#
# From Roozbeh Pournader (2007-11-05):
# This is quoted from Official Gazette of the Islamic Republic of
-# Iran, Volume 63, Number 18242, dated Tuesday 1386/6/24
+# Iran, Volume 63, No. 18242, dated Tuesday 1386/6/24
# [2007-10-16]. I am doing the best translation I can:...
# The official time of the country will be moved forward for one hour
# on the 24 hours of the first day of the month of Farvardin and will
@@ -1557,7 +1558,7 @@ Zone Asia/Amman 2:23:44 - LMT 1931
# - Qyzylorda switched from +5:00 to +6:00 on 1992-01-19 02:00.
# - Oral switched from +5:00 to +4:00 in spring 1989.
-# From Kazakhstan Embassy's News Bulletin #11
+# From Kazakhstan Embassy's News Bulletin No. 11
# <http://www.kazsociety.org.uk/news/2005/03/30.htm> (2005-03-21):
# The Government of Kazakhstan passed a resolution March 15 abolishing
# daylight saving time citing lack of economic benefits and health
@@ -1711,6 +1712,17 @@ Rule ROK 1987 1988 - Oct Sun>=8 3:00 0 S
#
# For Pyongyang we have no information; guess no changes since World War II.
+# From Steffen Thorsen (2015-08-07):
+# According to many news sources, North Korea is going to change to
+# the 8:30 time zone on August 15, one example:
+# http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-33815049
+#
+# From Paul Eggert (2015-08-07):
+# No transition time is specified; assume 00:00.
+# There is no common English-language abbreviation for this time zone.
+# Use %z rather than invent one. We can't assume %z works everywhere yet,
+# so for now substitute its output manually.
+
# Zone NAME GMTOFF RULES FORMAT [UNTIL]
Zone Asia/Seoul 8:27:52 - LMT 1908 Apr 1
8:30 - KST 1912 Jan 1
@@ -1723,7 +1735,8 @@ Zone Asia/Pyongyang 8:23:00 - LMT 1908 Apr 1
8:30 - KST 1912 Jan 1
9:00 - JCST 1937 Oct 1
9:00 - JST 1945 Aug 24
- 9:00 - KST
+ 9:00 - KST 2015 Aug 15
+ 8:30 - KST
###############################################################################